notes & musings
Changing the rewards of capitaism.
In the world today, corporations and companies are rewarded by destroying the environment while pushing junk onto consumers. It paints a poor picture for capitalism. Don't *we* decide what the capital is though?
Sat, 11 May 2019 15:46:21 EDT
The seeds of life.
How long did it take to nucleate life here? What if sending just the seeds of life, then we could set another planet on the way to having a life form, somehow compatible with ours.
Mon, 08 Apr 2019 14:00:49 EDT
Simple openjfx examples for compiling and running javafx apps.
New to java 9 is the module concept. OpenJFX is now distributed as a module.
Thu, 14 Mar 2019 06:14:08 EDT
Python numpy performance using ufunc or numba.
With numpy arithmetic a complicated expression can lead to many calls and loops when one loop and call would suffice.
Thu, 13 Sep 2018 06:19:32 EDT
Setting up local environments two ways. Anaconda or virtualenv and pip
On my mac I am using anaconda and on various linux computers I am using virtualenv and pip. I think, although I don't know, that anaconda is using virtualenv under the hood.
Fri, 26 Jan 2018 11:43:47 EDT
Art type physics
I was inspired to attempt a transfer, and now I wonder if I could create a model that produces similar results.
Sat, 30 Dec 2017 17:27:52 EDT
Docker basics
I need a centos environment for building an app running on a legacy server.
Thu, 14 Dec 2017 06:00:04 EDT
Creating a time lapse with ffmpeg and a webcam
This describes three basic steps to creating a stop motion from a webcam in linux using ffmpeg.
Tue, 28 Nov 2017 04:27:35 EDT
Days of Unemployment
I made a timelapse.
Fri, 03 Nov 2017 12:27:15 EDT
Ducks at the pond
I saw a 'family' of ducks
Tue, 01 Aug 2017 03:34:11 EDT